Welcome to the NavList Message Boards.


A Community Devoted to the Preservation and Practice of Celestial Navigation and Other Methods of Traditional Wayfinding

Compose Your Message

Add Images & Files
    Re: Overtaking vessels
    From: Lu Abel
    Date: 2002 Jan 12, 12:15 PM

    (See below)
    At 12:32 PM 1/12/2002 -0600, you wrote:
    >At 11:36 AM 1/12/02, you wrote:
    >>To answer Brian Whatcott:
    >>>Interesting question about overtaking.
    >>>Do not the Rules of The Road essentially dictate overtaking on the
    >>>starboard side?
    >>USCG Navigation Rules states:
    >>Part D-Sound and Light Signals
    >>One may elect to pass on either side of a vessel being overtaken
    >>providing that (Inland Rules)...
    >>  Capt Joe Kliment       W3HZM
    >>  Middletown, De
    >>"Right Stuff"
    >Hmmm... No.
    >One might assume that a person attending a traditional navigation list might
    >1) be interested in International rules
    >2) be operating a sailing vessel.
    >In this case, the windward vessel keeps clear and passing side signals are
    >  not given, rather, a turn to port/starboard indication is provided in
    >close quarters.
    >Now who's right?   
    >Brian Whatcott
    >   Altus OK                      Eureka!
    Rule 13b of both the International and Inland Rules makes it quite clear
    when a vessel is considered to be overtaking another -- when it is
    approaching the other vessel from more than two points abaft the other
    vessel's beam (this region is also where one would see the other vessel's
    white stern light at night).  Rule 13a states that the requirement of an
    overtaking vessel to keep clear of the overtaken vessel is absolute and
    transcends any other rules (eg, power keeping clear of sail, windward
    keeping clear of leeward, port/starboard  tacks, etc, etc.)
    BTW, I've always found the way the overtaking whistle signal requirements
    are expressed in the US Inland Rules to be odd.  Rule 34a says when two
    vessels are approaching, one short blast means "I intend to leave you on my
    port side"  But when talking about overtaking, Rule34c says one short blast
    means "I intend to overtake you on your starboard side"  Overtaking you on
    your starboard side is the same as leaving you on my port side, so I've
    never understood why the rules are expressed differently rather than
    Rule34c mirroring 34a by simply saying that one short blast means "I intend
    to leave you on my port side [as I overtake you]"
    Lu Abel

    Browse Files

    Drop Files


    What is NavList?

    Join NavList

    (please, no nicknames or handles)
    Do you want to receive all group messages by email?
    Yes No

    You can also join by posting. Your first on-topic post automatically makes you a member.

    Posting Code

    Enter the email address associated with your NavList messages. Your posting code will be emailed to you immediately.

    Email Settings

    Posting Code:

    Custom Index

    Start date: (yyyymm dd)
    End date: (yyyymm dd)

    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site