Welcome to the NavList Message Boards.

NavList:

A Community Devoted to the Preservation and Practice of Celestial Navigation and Other Methods of Traditional Wayfinding

Compose Your Message

Message:αβγ
Message:abc
Add Images & Files
    or...
       
    Reply
    Re: Google groups server issues
    From: Paul Hirose
    Date: 2007 Apr 25, 13:09 -0700

    Alexandre E Eremenko wrote:
    
    > The site reacted with "your message is successfully
    > posted" but they did not appear on the list,
    > and I did not receive them back.
    
    
    Alex, this isn't the first time I have seen your messages arrive several
    hours late. Until now I never said anything, since you weren't
    complaining, and anyway it was only a few hours.
    
    Here are partial message headers from a couple recent examples:
    
    Received: from nz-out-0708.google.com ([64.233.162.244])
        by mx-austrian.atl.sa.earthlink.net (EarthLink SMTP Server) with ESMTP
        Wed, 25 Apr 2007 04:28:03 -0400 (EDT)
    Received: by nz-out-0708.google.com with SMTP id v23so1375835nzg
             Wed, 25 Apr 2007 01:28:02 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.36.106.8 with SMTP id e8mr667123nzc.1177489426920;
             Wed, 25 Apr 2007 01:23:46 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.106.172.32 with SMTP id u32gr2688pre;
        Wed, 25 Apr 2007 01:23:46 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.35.18.4 with SMTP id v4mr883142pyi.1177444207156; Tue,
    24 Apr 2007 12:50:07 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by o40g2000prh.googlegroups.com with HTTP; Tue, 24 Apr 2007
    19:50:05 +0000 (UTC)
    From: alex
    To: NavList
    Subject: [NavList 2688] Re: Precision of lunars
    Date: Tue, 24 Apr 2007 12:50:05 -0700
    
    In the example above, note that the initial timestamp (at the bottom of
    the header) is April 24 1950 (UT). The next timestamp shows that it
    arrives at googlegroups.com with virtually no delay. Then the message
    goes through several machines, which I assume are at Google. At one
    point there's a big delay; the time suddenly jumps to April 25 0823 UT.
    After that, it gets to my ISP in only a few minutes.
    
    The next example is similar. Again, there seems to be a delay of several
    hours inside Google.
    
    Received: from wr-out-0708.google.com ([64.233.184.245])
        by mx-taint.atl.sa.earthlink.net (EarthLink SMTP Server) with SMTP id
    1hGAho3Du3Nl36L0
        Wed, 25 Apr 2007 01:43:02 -0400 (EDT)
    Received: by wr-out-0708.google.com with SMTP id 63so3016851wra
             Tue, 24 Apr 2007 22:43:02 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.114.204.13 with SMTP id b13mr545928wag.1177479776834;
             Tue, 24 Apr 2007 22:42:56 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.106.53.17 with SMTP id b17gr2686pra;
        Tue, 24 Apr 2007 22:42:56 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.35.85.16 with SMTP id n16mr101741pyl.1177445828862; Tue,
    24 Apr 2007 13:17:08 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by o40g2000prh.googlegroups.com with HTTP; Tue, 24 Apr 2007
    20:17:07 +0000 (UTC)
    From: alex
    To: NavList
    Subject: [NavList 2686] Re: Precision of lunars
    Date: Tue, 24 Apr 2007 13:17:07 -0700
    
    
    This last example shows everything working right. The message gets to my
    ISP within a few seconds.
    
    Received: from nz-out-0708.google.com ([64.233.162.244])
        by mx-emperor.atl.sa.earthlink.net (EarthLink SMTP Server) with ESMTP
    id 1hGLOd4y73Nl34l0
        Wed, 25 Apr 2007 14:01:41 -0400 (EDT)
    Received: by nz-out-0708.google.com with SMTP id v22so1171582nzg
             Wed, 25 Apr 2007 11:01:40 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.35.83.18 with SMTP id k18mr287496pyl.1177524096565;
             Wed, 25 Apr 2007 11:01:36 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.106.152.24 with SMTP id z24gr2696prd;
        Wed, 25 Apr 2007 11:01:36 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by 10.35.15.11 with SMTP id s11mr1145334pyi.1177524096110;
    Wed, 25 Apr 2007 11:01:36 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by r30g2000prh.googlegroups.com with HTTP; Wed, 25 Apr 2007
    18:01:34 +0000 (UTC)
    From: alex
    To: NavList
    Subject: [NavList 2696] Re: Point Venus, May 1774
    Date: Wed, 25 Apr 2007 11:01:34 -0700
    
    --
    I block messages that contain attachments or HTML.
    
    
    --~--~---------~--~----~------------~-------~--~----~
    To post to this group, send email to NavList@fer3.com
    To unsubscribe, send email to NavList-unsubscribe@fer3.com
    -~----------~----~----~----~------~----~------~--~---
    
    

       
    Reply
    Browse Files

    Drop Files

    NavList

    What is NavList?

    Join NavList

    Name:
    (please, no nicknames or handles)
    Email:
    Do you want to receive all group messages by email?
    Yes No

    You can also join by posting. Your first on-topic post automatically makes you a member.

    Posting Code

    Enter the email address associated with your NavList messages. Your posting code will be emailed to you immediately.
    Email:

    Email Settings

    Posting Code:

    Custom Index

    Subject:
    Author:
    Start date: (yyyymm dd)
    End date: (yyyymm dd)

    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site
    Visit this site